Watcha Wearing January – Driftwood Hoodie!

15747530_10209184433462614_1733466058896739601_n

Welcome back to the Watcha Wearin’ January blog tour! Thank goodness January is almost over, right? But once it is, you run out of chances to win some amazing prizes. If you don’t know what I mean, check out this post from our host, Sewing By Ti, to see all the details on the prizes, and enter in the Rafflecopter giveaway here. Not only that, but there are even more prizes to win through the linky party! Thanks to Made For Mermaids and Striped Swallow Patterns I’ve got 2 more small prizes to give away. You can only win through the linky party, so be sure to link up your January wears. For 2 lucky winners, there will be:
– 2 patterns from Made For Mermaids.
– 1 pattern from Striped Swallow Designs.

To enter to win, all you have to do is take a photo of an outfit you wore in January, and as long as at least one item in the photo is handmade, add it to the linky party. If you aren’t sure how to do that, check out this post from Sewing By Ti.

15726759_10209184432822598_1020414485162830407_n

How’s your January going? Where I live, we are having a very… strange… January. We had our typical deep freeze for a week or so, and then it warmed up. Like a lot! The snow actually started to melt, right in the middle of January. I guess most people would be excited about that, but it didn’t stay warm long enough to get rid of the snow, just to melt it and turn it into ice. Well, on Thursday morning when I was leaving the house for work, I slipped on the ice and hit the middle of my back on the corner of a concrete step. Yeah. Ouch. My back is still all bruised and swollen, although thankfully there was no major damage. I spent the next few days laid up on the couch with an ice pack and a bottle of Tylenol. Luckily though, I had already finished sewing my Driftwood Hoodie by then.

dsc_3780

Wearing this hoodie is like getting a hug from my mom, and let me tell you – my mom gives the best hugs. It’s warm, it’s cozy, I can retreat inside of it when I just can’t deal with the world anymore, and I still feel cute in my bright pink sweater! This sweater was exactly what I wanted to wear while I spent a few days recovering from a back injury.

I made the Driftwood Hoodie from Striped Swallow Designs using two colours of brushed scuba. If you’re wondering what brushed scuba is, don’t ask me. I have no idea. I found a bin of roll ends at my local Fabricland all labelled ‘Brushed Scuba’, and they varied in stretch, weight, softness, thickness… so yeah. I have no idea what it actually means. The pink stuff feels more like ponte. It’s stable, without much stretch, it’s not too thick, the inside is brushed and soft while the outside is smooth. The white stuff, on the other hand, is super stretchy, thick, plush, and warm. The inside is more like fleece, and it’s very cozy, but it is much stiffer, more like typical scuba.

img_0402
The Driftwood Hoodie before I sewed it together – see how much thicker the white fabric is than the pink?

If you’re looking for a fun and stylish hoodie pattern, do take a look at the Driftwood Hoodie. It has a lot of options, including slim or relaxed fit, a high or low cowl neckline, shirt length or tunic length, thumb hole cuffs or regular cuffs. I made the relaxed fit in shirt length with the high neckline and thumb hole cuffs, although I skipped the bunnyhug pocket. I also chose to stitch closed the side split to the top of the hem bands. And if you can tell, I left the bottom of the hem bands raw so I can feel that soft fuzzy texture of the white fabric. šŸ™‚

This hoodie basically feels like secret pyjamas. It’s so comfortable and cozy that I feel like I’m getting away with something when I wear it to work. But it is still stylish and fashionable, so I really am getting away with something. šŸ˜‰

I particularly love the cowl. It’s such a unique detail for a hoodie, and I’ve received a few compliments while wearing it.

This PDF pattern has 38 pages to print, but you trim them, and then line them up by letters at the corners as well as diamonds in the middle of the page. Despite the large amount of pages, I found it very easy to put them together accurately. The seams are trued on this pattern, meaning that the curved shapes sew together nicely. Most of it can be done on a serger, but for some of the trickier details, you do need to use a regular sewing machine.

The best part? Add a couple snaps and you’ve got yourself an introvert hoodie:

dsc_3794

Just kidding. Although I do want to sew one of those “leave me alone” sweaters now.

Disclaimer: I received the Driftwood pattern for free as part of the blog tour. All opinions expressed are honest and my own.

If you want to see what everyone else is wearing for January in their own climates, check out these blog posts all week long (just remember that the link won’t work until that day!)

Sunday, January 22nd: Sewing By Ti , Embrace Everyday

Monday, January 23rd: Sewing By Ti, Tenille’s Thread

Tuesday, January 24th: Robynne & the Bobbin, Harper + Lu

Wednesday, January 25th: Mahlica Designs

Thursday, January 26th: Sew Sophie Lynn, Creative Counselor, Crafty Like a Rox

Friday, January 27th: Everything Your Mama Made and More

Saturday January 28th: Sewingly Michelle, Sewing By Ti, Wild and Wanderful

2 thoughts on “Watcha Wearing January – Driftwood Hoodie!

Leave a Reply

