Toaster Sweater #1

When I first heard of Project #SewMyStyle, I was really excited. I’m all about capsule wardrobes, and it seemed like an awesome way to slowly build a wardrobe! As I looked more, I realised very few of the chosen patterns were truly my style. That’s okay, though! I can still follow along, and sew pieces that fit into my wardrobe.

The first project for January is the Toaster Sweater #2. Like a rebel, I decided to sew up Toaster Sweater #1. These two patterns are by Sew House 7, and you can buy both of them together, or each one separately. I chose to only buy Toaster Sweater #1, as I couldn’t see myself wearing the much looser shape of #2.

dsc_3680

This Toaster Sweater is a semi-cropped closer fitting turtleneck sweater. It has raglan sleeves with long sleeve cuffs, a wide waistband, and a loose turtleneck. The pattern suggests using stiff, thick knits, which is exactly what I found at my local Fabricland. This sweater fleece is thick, stiff, doesn’t have a lot of stretch, and is very fuzzy and warm on the inside. Also – it collects pet hair like a magnet! Geez. I used a lint-roller three times while taking these photos, but I still spy the stray hair here and there.

dsc_3686

I made no modifications to the pattern, not even adding the bit of length I usually do. (I ought to stop saying ‘usually’ – I’ve been forgetting to add my length more often than not lately.) The pattern itself is pretty great. There aren’t any variations, which means less pieces to cut/trace/modify. It is drafted with 5/8″ seam allowances, which I know a lot of people think is huge for knits, but I actually liked it. I’m still learning on my serger, and I found the larger seam allowances easier to handle. Also I clipped all of notches inwards, knowing I would take off 3/8″ with my serger, which makes cutting go faster than when I’m trying to clip all those tiny notches out like little mountains. I found the fabric requirements to be spot on. I had just enough fabric leftover to make a skinny infinity scarf, which is so cozy in this sweater fleece.

I also liked that the pattern included optional topstitching instructions. They have you topstitch almost all of the seams with a twin needle, which I decided to do. I really like the professional finish this gives, even if it did leave this serger newbie with slightly wavy seams. (PS – polyester sweater fleece does not press nearly as well as I’d like.)

dsc_3699-copy

You may have spied this sweater in my Watcha Wearin’ January post earlier this month. I find the slightly cropped length makes it perfect to layer over skirts or dresses so you can keep wearing them in the winter months.

dsc_3637
Colette Moneta layered under a Sew House 7 Toaster Sweater #1
Leave a Reply

