Spring Maxi Dress

sewing up spring

Welcome back! Is it spring yet, wherever you are? Green is starting to pop up here, and yet it snowed over this past weekend. As usual, spring is the most confusing season of them all. Nonetheless, I’m still sewing for warmer days. Erm, much warmer days apparently. It’s still far too chilly to wear this dress.

So this particular dress started off as a Catarina Dress from Seamwork, and a 5m length of fabric I’ve had for years. I recall this hot pink fabric being a silk blend of some sort. It has a nice natural texture, and both body and drape. Although, I really just love the colour of it. I had a RTW maxi dress that I loved in theory, but couldn’t walk in. The skirt was too narrow, the hem was too short, but the flounce and the straps were just perfect. I gave it away at the end of last summer, so this is my recreation and betterment of that dress.

Like I said, I started off with the Catarina by Seamwork pattern. Then I followed this Block Paper Scissors to create a flounce, using my french curve to shorten and shape the flounce. I also lengthened the skirt to floor length. I simply measured from my natural waist to the floor, and made the skirt that long (plus 2″ for hem and just-in-case). And then, I created side slits. Truthfully, my fabric was too narrow (44″) for the bottom of the skirt, so I simply cut it straight from mid-thigh or so, adding hem allowances, and then hemming it. So, umm, just a few modifications here and there, right?

When all was said and done, it was a fairly simple dress to put together. The bodice has darts, is fully lined, and the straps are adjustable. The skirt is gathered, and the waist tie holds it close. Since this is a slip-on woven dress, the finished measurement of the waist needs to be big enough to go over my bust, but the instructions do include thread chains to hold the wasit tie in place. The dress fits me well, with enough ease to be comfortable. And the skirt is just so swishy!

The cheapest way to get the Catarina pattern is by subscribing to Seamwork Mag monthly. Each month, you get 2 pattern credits for $6. If you haven’t subscribed before, but fancy it, you can sign up using my link  to get your first month for only $3, and I get a little something for the referral. Here’s my link if you want to use it 🙂

Do you have any summer maxi dresses planned? They’ve been such a style staple the last few years. Be sure to check out all of the other posts for more spring inspiration!

April 1st: Sewing By Ti

Monday, April 3rd Sewing By Ti

April 4th Crafty Like a Rox

April 5th The Socially Awkward Seamstress

April 6th The Socially Awkward Seamstress

April 7th Robynne and the Bobbin

Sunday April 9th Sew Like a Sloth

April 10th That’s Sew Lily

April 11th Hazelnut Handmade

April 12th Doodle Number 5

April 13th Crafty Like a Rox

April 14th Sewing By Ti, Ma Moose

Monday April 17th Anne Mari Sews, Robynne and the Bobbin

April 18th Rebel and Malice

April 19th Very Blissful

April 20th The Fairy Dust Bin

April 21st Sewing By Ti

Sunday April 23rd On Wednesdays We Sew

April 24th Tenille’s Thread

April 25th Ma Moose

April 26th Margarita on the Ross

April 27th The Socially Awkward Seamstress

April 28th Sewing By Ti

Leave a Reply

