Colour Story

Are you ready for a complete overload of information? I’ve been working on my personal colour palette for several days, and it’s something I could just spend forever digging into. I have, however, had a head cold and been in the middle of pattern testing, along with some family emergencies… so maybe I’m spending longer on this than I normally would.

Anyways… my favourite Facebook group, Capsule Wardrobe Sew Along, has lately been obsessed with this concept. There was an article in Seamwork Magazine that described how to use a computer or smart phone to find your personal colour palette. So far, Becca, Lindsay, and Tibeca have blogged about their own, and inspired me to do the same.

dsc_3668

Do yourself a huge favour and go and read  this article  in full right meow! The steps I followed below are explained in that article, and they deserve full credit for the sheer genius that is this process.

So, for starters – I needed a specific photo of myself. A clear photo taken of my skin, hair and eyes in natural indirect light. I have the afore-mentioned cold, so I dug out a photo from earlier this year. My husband had snapped this on his Nikon, and it meets all requirements.

Then I used Adobe Color CC, to pull my personal colours, and also to find all the complementary (& etc) colours.

adobe

I pulled the first colour from my roots, the second from the sun-bleached ends of my hair, then one from my skin, one from my lips, and the last from my eyes. After finding all of the coordinating colour shades, I made this fancy schmancy chart:

colour-chart

You can see how the centre colour under each category stays the same all the way down, because that shade is ‘my’ shade — the shade I pulled from the photo above.

But there is some great information to look at in this chart form. Take a look at the colours, and consider them in the context of “complementary eye colours” or “monochromatic lip colours”. Here’s a few of my notes on makeup selection. Although I love to wear a really red lipstick, this give me a great place to start with picking pinks. Also – look for neutral colours! Black, greys, white, cream, off-white… I only found two light coloured neutrals (like white, cream, light grey, etc) in my palette, but that makes sense for me.

untitled-drawing

Next, I went through and removed all duplicate colours. You’ll probably end up with a lot of those as well. So now my colour palette looks like this:

colours1

And then I pared it down even more. What you see below is my original photo, most closely framed the colours that I already love to wear. The top row, however, is not from the chart – they are deep, more hued versions of the colours from my chart, that I also love to wear. I found that most people don’t end up with vibrant colours from this process, so I just added my own 😉 The two columns on the outside are what I would consider my ‘neutrals’ – blush, brown, cream, khaki, etc. They’re shades that will help pull out the natural undertones in my skin and hair.

colours2

Realistically, this whole project didn’t show me much I didn’t already know, except perhaps when I couldn’t find a green pixel in my eye colour… I’ve always considered my eyes green, but my husband keeps telling me they’re hazel. So maybe he’s right… either way, my eye colour brought up a lot of coordinating greens. So whatevs. 😉

And while it perhaps did not teach me anything new in regards to what colours to wear, it did help me put them all in one place. Now I can look at this chart when fabric shopping, to help keep me focused on capsule colours.

If you do this project as well, I’d love to see!!

Leave a Reply

