Reagan Raglan

Bella Sunshine Designs has just released a new top, the Reagan Raglan. This is a PDF pattern for a top, a tunic, or a dress, with a V-neck and two different sleeve lengths. The V-neck puts a slight twist on the classic raglan style. You could make this in one solid fabric for classic t-shirt, or use a different fabric for the sleeves (like I did) for a fun pop of style. Ooh – and the best thing about this pattern? It has a seperate front piece for full bust adjustments, so you don’t have to go about adjusting if you’re bigger than a B/C cup!

dsc_3837

I tested this pattern, and made one version in a classic light grey cotton lycra with floral ponte sleeves. I ordered the floral ponte from LA Finch Fabrics, this colourway appears to be sold out, but you can still order it in a different colour! 😉

dsc_3832

I absolutely love the shape and height of the V-neck. Deep and low enough to be flattering and draw the eye to my collarbone, but not so deep that I’m baring all. For this grey and floral version, I chopped the sleeves to a custom length. I love elbow or 3/4 sleeves, so I just kind of winged it. It’s not a difficult modification if you want one for yourself.

My nitty-gritty details: I typically sew a size 14 or 16 in most sewing patterns. I have a C sewing cup, and wear a G cup bra. I made the Reagan with the size 12 bust adjustment piece, and graded to a 14 at the waist and hips. I usually add 1-2″ of length to most things, but I didn’t add any length to these. I used my serger for all steps, except basting the center front of the neckband, and hemming, although this pattern could easily be made with only a regular sewing machine.

dsc_3818-copy

I decided to also give a shot to that stripes & floral trend that is all the rage. I grabbed some brightly coloured floral stretch lace, and some teal and white striped cotton lycra. This pattern definitely works well with stretch lace sleeves, so if you’ve got a pile of that in your stash like I do, here’s an idea for you.

dsc_3819
This stripey top was the first one I made during testing, and the instructions have since been updated to make it much easier to get a sharp V. So please don’t stare at the center of my V-neck for too long, kay? 🙂

Aaaannndddd one more thing to share with you all! If you join the Bella Sunshine Designs Facebook groupBella Sunshine Designs Facebook group, there is a code to get this pattern for free (for group members only)! What are you waiting for??

And if you see anything else you like while browsing Bella Sunshine Designs, all patterns are 40% off from now until March 5th!

Leave a Reply

