Robynne’s Top 5 Hits of 2016

1

2016 has been a fascinating year for me. While I can’t believe it’s almost over, I kind love sitting here and looking back on the past 12 months… So much has happened, so much has changed, and there’s so much to learn from it all.

Gillian over at Crafting a Rainbow does these Top 5 posts at the end of every year, and since I love looking back, I’m going to join in!

So, without further ado, here are my Top 5 Hits of 2016!

img_20161214_093425.jpg

Bridesmaid Dress

I started on this project on January 2nd, and I didn’t let myself touch anything else until I was finished with it. So, not only was it the first project of my year, but it is one that I am so very proud of as well. A friend of mine came to me in the previous fall, and said she was having trouble finding the bridesmaid dress she wanted. So we sat down, and looked through patterns, fabric, dress shapes, until we built her perfect dress for her sister’s wedding. It was a huge undertaking for me, as I had never fitted anything to anyone else’s body. But I took it step by step, did a lot of fittings, made a cheap muslin, and ordered extra fabric to cover any mistakes. In the end, I was so very proud of how it came out. My friend loved it, and I am so happy that I tackled such a huge project so early in my sewing adventure. (I’d been sewing seriously for less than a year then)

94aab-psx_20160327_211134

Simplicity 1961

This sweater gets so. much. wear. The poor thing started pilling before I even managed to take photos of it. I love adding a pop of bright teal to most of my outfits, I love the shape, the options to tie it, and the stretchy-ness of the fabric. I made this sweater as part of my PR Mini Wardrobe Contest, and I do often wear it with the shirts I made for that wardrobe, but I also wear it with just about everything else in my closet. I really ought to make more of this pattern — I just hate how much of a fabric hog it is.

wp-1481729986980.jpg

Twill Grainline Maritimes

These shorts. Ah, these shorts. I wish it was summer again, so I could wear them some more. I’ve actually worn them a couple of times since it got cold, with tights layered underneath, just because I love them so much. The neutral navy goes with everything I own, the fabric is a soft cotton twill that relaxes with wear, and the pattern is such a perfect fit for summer shorts for me. You can bet your bottom dollar that I will be making more Maritime shorts this summer.

wp-1481730067635.jpg

Chambray Cheyenne

This was another of my summer staples, but this shirt also carried me into fall. I haven’t worn it much since it snapped really cold, since I find it hard to wear a sweater over the elbow-length sleeves. But that’s okay, nearly none of my wardrobe can truly be worn year round here, in the land of crazy seasons. I love this shirt because it’s so easy to wear. I love the soft cotton chambray that only gets softer as I wash it. I love the loose relaxed fit that still shows some curves. It got a lot of wear, and it will be one of the first shirts to get pulled out come springtime.

0612b-dsc_2283

Thread Theory Fairfield

I’m not sure if I can call this shirt an “unselfish sew” or not. Technically, I made it for someone other than myself, but I also made it because I wanted my husband to wear it for photos. He didn’t request it, and he kept insisting I didn’t need to go to all that trouble… What a sweetie. Either way, this shirt was one of the few projects I made for someone other than myself this year. I love it for that reason, but I’m also so incredibly proud of it. I love the fact that I made a men’s dress shirt with my own two hands. I love all the details. I love how it looks on my significant other. I just love it. In fact, my husband wore this shirt to my staff Christmas party and (after a few glasses of wine) I was telling everybody they should admire it, since I made it. That’s how proud of it I am.

 

So there you have it. My top 5 hits of 2016. The 5 projects I am most proud of, that I wore the most, or that I love the most.

3 thoughts on “Robynne’s Top 5 Hits of 2016

Leave a Reply

