The Versatile Versalette

I’m all about getting the most mileage out of any piece of clothing. Although I absolutely love bright colours, bold prints, and one-off dresses, I’ve been pushing myself to sew more neutrals – things that are easy to pair, easy to wear, and can be worn through all the seasons (to an extent, I do live in the prairies).

When the Versalette pattern first came out on IndieSew, I was instantly obsessed. At first, I convinced myself it would only look good on slender willowy girls, so I passed it by. But I couldn’t stop thinking about it. When I got my hands on this gorgeous drapey rayon spandex from LA Finch Fabrics, I knew it was a match made in heaven. Sure, a solid colour would be easier to pair, and something like black would go with almost everything, but isn’t life too short for boring? ;p

The Versalette is essentially a large rectangle with armholes, sleeves, and four drawstrings. You can loosen and tighten any of the drawstrings to get different effects, and wear it on different places of your body. Of course, layering over it with belts, blazers and cardigans would get even more mileage out of it.

I’m positive this little garment will get tossed in my suitcase for every single trip I go on in the foreseeable future. It will also be going to the beach with me during the summer. My husband took these photos for me after one of our dance lessons, in our friend/teacher’s studio. He doubles as a dance teacher and a photographer, so the dance studio is a great place to snap some pics. He stuck around, working on some dance stuff while we took these photos, so I can tell you – you can change under this thing! Haha.

There are at least 30 different ways to wear this little thing, and although a few are not so much for me (hello minidress, I forgot how much leg you showed!), there are at least a few that I absolutely love, and more I would wear with the right outfit.

Now that you’re sold on how amazing it is, let’s talk about specifics. It’s technically a “one size fits most” garment, which I usually dislike. But the pattern comes with a size range that it’s supposed to fit, and my measurements were at the top and just a little over, so I knew to add some width. I’m also tall, so I added a couple inches to the length as well. The main bodice is just a large rectangle, so this isn’t difficult at all. I only printed the marking guide, and just cut most of the pieces from measurement charts.  (PS – I also cut my drawstrings longer, but trimmed them down when the pattern said to.)

I omitted the pocket, because I didn’t think I could match the print well enough and I didn’t want super obvious pockets.

The fabric I used is this rayon spandex, but the blog post here has some recommended fabrics if you’re uncertain. There is also another blog post with tips for a better Versalette. Oh, and of course, this style was originally sold as a pre-made item, rather than a sewing pattern. So if you don’t sew, or you fit standard sizes, you can check it out here, and see more information and the video again here.

Leave a Reply

