Bella Sunshine Designs Violet

It is finally summer here in the Great White North, and I am fully enjoying it. Filled with barbeques, bonfires, walks by the river and motorcycle rides, summer is my very favourite season. It’s a time when I finally shed a few layers, spend more time outdoors, and soak up the sun (with plenty of sunscreen on, of course). This summer, I’ve been loving my shorts and tanks, but I just don’t have enough of either. While I still need to work on making a few more pairs of shorts, I have two new tanks in my summer rotation and I’m loving them.

Bella Sunshine Designs released the Violet Dress & Top on Friday, and it is on sale for $9.00 USD through Friday July 22nd. There’s also a bundle for ladies and girls for those of you who have mini-me’s to sew for.

This pattern comes in ladies sizes 0-20, and has two different bust pieces, one for D+ cups. I used the D+ cup pieces, and graded from a size 12 at the bust to a 14 through the waist and hips. I love the loose flowy fit, and the perfect fit through my bust. There is a facing on the inside to keep all the edges clean, and the straps secured. The flounce is optional, but I think it’s a fun little detail to add some interest to my summer wardrobe.

I made this black version first, using a polyester ITY knit. I thought the slippery fabric would make the straps difficult, but it wasn’t so bad.

Then, since I had a little time before Canada Day (like, two days before), I decided to make this festive tank. I lengthened the flounce, which was an easy hack, and used some poly/rayon/lycra in Canadian colours.

The straps and the flounce add just enough interest to this top, while it is still easy to wear and pair with anything. And the separate pieces for bust sizes is always a nice touch!
One thought on “Bella Sunshine Designs Violet

Leave a Reply

