Me Made May Week 3

So my own personal mini goal for this week was to wear me-made bottoms to work everyday. After looking back at the previous week where I wore RTW jeans almost every day, and realizing how many pants and skirts I had made, I set a mini goal. Honestly, the hardest thing about it was that I don’t usually dress up for work. I almost always wear jeans, as does everyone else there. It was hard to break out of my comfort zone, but I’m happy I did it.

 

Oh boy. I need to get better at pairing garments… this is why I wear jeans every day, guys!

Somewhere in the middle of this week, I realized I’ve run out of tops. At least, I’m fairly certain… I might have one or two me-mades hidden somewhere, but as far as I can tell, I’ve worn all of my me-made tops at least once now. I think I’ve also worn all of my bottoms. I have a couple of dresses I’ll try to pull out still. I will, of course, finish May with my original goal of one me-made a day. Even if you’ve seen them all, I need to work on pairing them.


Details on patterns and fabrics:

May 15th – I committed most of my Sunday to my new garden, so I found it really hard to get dressed that morning. What me-made would I want to wear knowing it would get dirty anyway? I went with my super comfortable Patterns for Pirates Slim Fit Raglan (modified neckline) in cotton/lycra. And then I did a load of a laundry almost as soon as I was done in the garden. Can’t have it getting stained!

May 16th – I think I managed to look a lot more professional than usual this day. I’m still not sure the navy sweater works with the grey skirt, though… I wore my Itch to Stitch Lindy Petal Skirt, made with two back pieces to omit the petal (super stretchy, Spandex-y mystery knit from a garage sale), my latest Seamwork Aurora tank (cotton lycra), and my navy ponte Simplicity 1961 (ponte from JoAnn)

May 17th – You might be surprised to hear this, but I actually had not worn this skirt yet. I made it up on a whim, and instantly hated it. Being a spoon shape, I don’t like things that are fitted from my waist to my high hip, or that draw attention there, so a fitted gored skirt was out. I really didn’t find it flattering. But on my goal to wear me-made bottoms all week, I pulled it out. And decided to pair it with my floral tank. And now I’m in love with this outfit. It will definitely get more wear all week! Skirt is the Love Notions Sybil in the gored view, made with textured polyester double knit (sometimes called Liverpool), paired with a Colette Sorbettto with an inverted pleat made in floral cotton shirting from JoAnn.

May 18th – I’m pretty sure this teal cardigan (Simplicity 1961) is my comfort zone. I find myself reaching for it so often. More often than I take pictures of it… I paired it with my MariaDenmark Kirsten Kimono Tee (lacey rayon/poly/lycra) and my black Jalie 2908 jeans (black stretch twill), which are hard to photograph.

May 19th – My first Love Notions Sybil skirt in a spongey grey ponte paired with my hacked Patterns for Pirates Womens Henley. I added flutter sleeves and colour-blocking, and made it in a rayon knit and stretch lace.

May 20th – Simplicity 2554 in polyester knit and my Designer Stitch Alyse pants in purple stretch twill, all paired with a why-am-I-taking-selfies-at-7am-face. I don’t know if you guys know, but I am not a morning person. Most days, I’m barely functioning until after 10 and I’ve had some caffeine, so this whole waking up early to get dressed and take selfies is kind of killing me. Ah well, we’re entering a long weekend, so I’ll be plenty rested on Tuesday. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

